Twenty-Two of America's Most Promising Scientists Selected as 2011 Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences

Contact: Jayne Miller, 202.540.6548

Philadelphia, PA - 06/14/2011 - Twenty-two of America’s most promising scientists have been named Pew Scholars in the Biomedical Sciences by The Pew Charitable Trusts.  The 2011 Pew Scholars will join a select community that includes MacArthur Fellows, recipients of the Albert Lasker Medical Research Award and three Nobel Prize winners.  Research by the new class of Scholars is related to many human diseases ranging from Alzheimer’s to diabetes to ocular degeneration. The program encourages early-career scientists to advance research that leads to important medical breakthroughs and treatments.

“Pew is pleased to provide this country’s most ambitious and dedicated scientists with timely funding that enables them to explore novel areas of investigation early in their careers, at what may be the most inventive and creative period in their research,” said Rebecca W. Rimel, president and CEO of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

To date, the program has invested more than $125 million to fund over 500 scholars. It is a rigorously competitive program where recipients receive $240,000 over four years to pursue their research without restriction. Applicants who work in all areas of physical and life sciences related to biomedical study must be nominated by an invited institution and demonstrate both excellence and innovation in their research. This year, 175 institutions were requested to nominate a candidate and 136 eligible nominations were received.

“Early recognition of young scientists with ideas that challenge their fields is essential for the vitality of the biomedical sciences,” said Craig C. Mello, Ph.D., a 1995 Pew Scholar, a 2006 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine and the chair of the national advisory committee for the program. “From my own experience as a Pew Scholar and member of the advisory board, this program gives young scientists the confidence to pursue risky projects, and to push the boundaries of their fields, planting the seeds for major scientific advancements.  I welcome these promising scientists into the Pew Biomedical Scholars family and look forward to watching as their research unfolds in the years ahead.”

The new 2011 Pew Scholars are:

  • Christine M. Dunham, Ph.D.
    Emory University School of Medicine
    Structural Biology and Pathogenesis
  • Thomas G. Fazzio, Ph.D.
    University of Massachusetts Medical School
    Stem Cell Biology
  • Max L. Fletcher, Ph.D.
    University of Tennessee Health Science Center
  • Hunter B. Fraser, Ph.D.
    Stanford University
     Gene Regulation
  • Melissa K. Gardner, Ph.D.
    University of Minnesota
    Cell Biology and Biophysics
  • Mary Gehring, Ph.D.
    Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research
    Gene Regulation and Epigenetics
  • Jeff Gore, Ph.D.
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
    Biophysics and Systems Biology
  • Takaki Komiyama, Ph.D.
    University of California, San Diego
  • Mei Kong, Ph.D.
    Beckman Institute, City of Hope
    Cancer Cell Biology
  • Michael S. Kuhns, Ph.D.
    University of Arizona
  • Erica Larschan, Ph.D.
    Brown University
  • Eros Lazzerini Denchi, Ph.D.
    Scripps Research Institute
    Aging and Stem Cell Biology
  • Ann C. Morris, Ph.D.
    University of Kentucky
     Developmental Neurobiology and Genetics
  • James B. Moseley, Ph.D.
    Dartmouth Medical School
    Cell Biology
  • Suzanne M. Noble, M.D., Ph.D.
    University of California, San Francisco
    Fungal Pathogenesis
  • Brad J. Nolen, Ph.D.
    University of Oregon
    Structural Biology
  • Chad G. Pearson, Ph.D.
    University of Colorado, Denver
    Cell Biology
  • Sharad Ramanathan, Ph.D.
    Harvard University
     Neuroscience and Systems Biology
  • Anthony R. Richardson, Ph.D.
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
     Microbiology and Immunology
  • Niels Ringstad, Ph.D.
    New York University School of Medicine
  • Georgios Skiniotis, Ph.D.
    University of Michigan
    Structural Biology and Membrane Biology
  • Liang Zhou, M.D., Ph.D.
    Northwestern University
    Immunology and Gene Regulation
For more information about the program and the 2011 awardees please visit

Click here to read about the 2011 Pew Latin American Fellows

(All Fields are required)