Pew-Supported Scientists Awarded NIH Grants for High-Risk, High-Reward Research

Scientists Awarded NIH Grants

The National Institutes of Health announced the recipients of awards Oct. 6 for researchers demonstrating exceptional creativity. The additional funding will help the scientists conduct investigations in cancer, neuroscience, structural biology, immunology, and bioengineering.

Alexander Gimelbrant, a 2010 Pew scholar and assistant professor at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston, was one of eight recipients of the NIH Transformative Research Award. The grant is awarded to investigators who propose creative, crosscutting, interdisciplinary approaches.

Five Pew scholars were among the 29 recipients of the NIH Director’s New Innovator Awards, which support early-career investigators: 2013 Pew scholar Mark Andermann, 2014 Pew scholar Lindsey Glickfeld, 2014 Pew scholar Gabriel Lander, 2013 Pew scholar June Round, and 2013 Pew scholar Leo Wan. The award was also given to Roberto Zoncu, a member of the inaugural class of Pew-Stewart Scholars for Cancer Research, a national initiative—funded by The Alexander and Margaret Stewart Trust and administered by Pew—to support promising early career scientists whose research will accelerate discovery and advance progress to a cure for cancer.

In a news release, NIH Director Francis Collins lauded the new grantees as “innovative investigators with the potential to transform scientific fields.”

“This program allows researchers to propose highly creative research projects across a broad range of biomedical and behavioral research areas that involve inherent risk but have the potential to lead to dramatic breakthroughs,” he said.

Learn more about Pew’s biomedical programs.

The front facade of the Supreme Court of the United States in Washington, DC.

Agenda for America

A collection of resources to help federal, state, and local decision-makers set an achievable agenda for all Americans

Quick View

Data-driven policymaking is not just a tool for finding new solutions for emerging challenges, it makes government more effective and better able to serve the public interest. In the coming months, President Joe Biden and the 117th Congress will tackle a number of environmental, health, public safety, and fiscal and economic issues—nearly all of them complicated by the COVID-19 pandemic. To help solve specific, systemic problems in a nonpartisan fashion, Pew has compiled a series of briefings and recommendations based on our research, technical assistance, and advocacy work across America.


States of Innovation

Data-driven state policy innovations across America

Quick View

Data-driven policymaking is not just a tool for finding new solutions for difficult challenges. When states serve their traditional role as laboratories of innovation, they increase the American people’s confidence that the government they choose—no matter the size—can be effective, responsive, and in the public interest.