Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission

Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission

The IATTC has 25 members and cooperating nonmember states. It is the oldest of the five regional tuna fisheries management organizations. Created by convention in 1949, the commission manages fisheries across 26 million square miles of the eastern Pacific Ocean. That’s about 20 percent of the world’s total ocean area.

Additional Resources

The front facade of the Supreme Court of the United States in Washington, DC.

Agenda for America

Resources for federal, state, and local decision-makers

Quick View

Data-driven policymaking is not just a tool for finding new solutions for emerging challenges, it makes government more effective and better able to serve the public interest.