2009 Pew Scholar Wins Young Investigator Award from Society for Neuroscience

The Society for Neuroscience will present 2009 Pew biomedical scholar Diana Bautista with its Young Investigator Award for 2014 at its annual meeting Nov. 15 to 19 in Washington.

As an assistant professor of molecular and cell biology at the University of California, Berkeley, Bautista focuses on how neurons allow us to experience sensations such as pain and taste. She has used innovative models—such as the reaction to spicy food or investigations of the star-nosed mole—to explore the field of sensory neuroscience.

The Young Investigator Award recognizes noteworthy contributions by independent young researchers studying the brain’s mechanisms. The Society for Neuroscience will also present the award to Feng Zhang, an investigator at the McGovern Institute for Brain Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

“Drs. Zhang and Bautista are two young neuroscientists who have demonstrated remarkable dedication to their work,” said Carol Mason, president of the Society for Neuroscience. “Their creative research is advancing their respective fields, and their commitment to helping other scientists succeed is an inspiration to us all.”

Learn more about Pew’s biomedical programs.

Spotlight on Mental Health

Composite image of modern city network communication concept

Learn the Basics of Broadband from Our Limited Series

Sign up for our four-week email course on Broadband Basics

Quick View

How does broadband internet reach our homes, phones, and tablets? What kind of infrastructure connects us all together? What are the major barriers to broadband access for American communities?

Pills illustration
Pills illustration

What Is Antibiotic Resistance—and How Can We Fight It?

Sign up for our four-week email series The Race Against Resistance.

Quick View

Antibiotic-resistant bacteria, also known as “superbugs,” are a major threat to modern medicine. But how does resistance work, and what can we do to slow the spread? Read personal stories, expert accounts, and more for the answers to those questions in our four-week email series: Slowing Superbugs.

Explore Pew’s new and improved
Fiscal 50 interactive

Your state's stats are more accessible than ever with our new and improved Fiscal 50 interactive:

  • Maps, trends, and customizable charts
  • 50-state rankings
  • Analysis of what it all means
  • Shareable graphics and downloadable data
  • Proven fiscal policy strategies


Welcome to the new Fiscal 50

Key changes include:

  • State pages that help you keep track of trends in your home state and provide national and regional context.
  • Interactive indicator pages with highly customizable and shareable data visualizations.
  • A Budget Threads feature that offers Pew’s read on the latest state fiscal news.

Learn more about the new and improved Fiscal 50.