Pew Biomedical Scholars Named Outstanding Early-Career Scientists by President Obama

Contact: Nicolle Grayson,, 202.540.6347

Philadelphia, PA - 07/23/2012 - Four Pew Scholars have been awarded Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), the highest honor bestowed by the United States Government on science and engineering professionals in the early stages of their independent research careers.  They are among 96 researchers awarded today, selected for their pursuit of innovative research at the frontiers of science and technology and their commitment to community service as demonstrated through scientific leadership, public education, or community outreach. In addition to the newly awarded members, 10 Pew Scholars have been named PECASE winners since the awards were established by President Clinton in 1996.

The Presidential early career awards embody the high priority the Obama Administration places on producing outstanding scientists and engineers to advance the Nation’s goals, tackle grand challenges, and contribute to the American economy. 

The Pew Scholars PECASE awardees, all funded by the Department of Health and Human Services are:

  • Valerie Horsley, 2010 Pew Scholar, Yale University
  • Erica N. Larschan, 2011 Pew Scholar, Brown University
  • Niels Ringstad, 2011 Pew Scholar, Skirball Institute, New York University School of Medicine
  • Georgios Skiniotis, 2011 Pew Scholar, University of Michigan
For full biographies and information regarding the Scholars’ research, please visit

Read the full press release, President Obama Honors Outstanding Early-Career Scientists on the White House website.

(All Fields are required)