NGOs Call for Immediate Protection for Bluefin Tuna

Date: November 16, 2010

Location:
Best Western Premier Amiral Hotel
98 avenue d'Italie

Paris, France 75013

Description:

On Tuesday November 16 at 10 a.m. CET, Greenpeace, Oceana, the Pew Environment Group and WWF will host a press breakfast briefing to discuss the future of Atlantic bluefin tuna one day before the International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT) begins a crucial meeting in Paris.

For years, ICCAT has been heavily criticised for failing to take robust action to protect populations of Atlantic bluefin tuna, one of the world’s most biologically interesting, economically lucrative and over-fished species.

Eastern Atlantic bluefin tuna quotas have been set far too high. Populations in the Mediterranean Sea have plummeted due to decades of chronic mismanagement. Illegal fishing and corruption throughout the Atlantic bluefin tuna supply chain have undermined any real attempts to implement scientifically-based catch limits.

ICCAT member governments have a unique opportunity at this meeting to finally protect Atlantic bluefin tuna. During the press briefing, NGO representatives will outline immediate actions needed to rebuild populations of this remarkable fish.

WHAT:  
A press breakfast briefing to provide an overview of this year’s ICCAT meeting held in Paris and the importance of protecting Atlantic bluefin tuna
WHEN: 
Tuesday, November 16 at 10 a.m. CET
WHERE:  
Room Matisse, Best Western Premier Amiral Hotel, 98 avenue d'Italie – 75013, Paris
http://www.amiralparishotel.com/ 

WHO:  
François Chartier – Oceans Campaigner, Greenpeace France
Maria José Cornax – Fisheries Campaigns Manager, Oceana
Rémi Parmentier – Senior Policy Advisor, Pew Environment Group
Sergi Tudela – Head of Fisheries Programme, WWF Mediterranean

CONTACTS:
Elsa Weill – elsaweill@gmail.com, Mob +34 660 625 977
Camille Lajus – clajus@wwf.fr +33 1 55 25 84 61 / Port : +33 6 15 39 24 95
Gemma Parkes – gparkes@wwf.panda.org, +39 06 844 97 224 / Mob +39 346 387 3237
Angela Pauly – apauly@oceana.org, +32 (0)2.513.22.42 / Mob +32 (0) 4.78.03.84.90
Axel Renaudin – axel.renaudin@greenpeace.org, +33 (0)1 44 64 0293 / Mob +33 (0) 6 88 881827
Dave Bard – dbard@pewtrusts.org, +1 202.778.4551 / Mob + 1 202.486.4426

The briefing will be held in French. Interviews with spokespeople after the briefing will be available in French, Spanish, English, Italian, Catalan and Galician

X
(All Fields are required)