Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission

The IATTC has 25 members and cooperating nonmember states. It is the oldest of the five regional tuna fisheries management organizations. Created by convention in 1949, the commission manages fisheries across 26 million square miles of the eastern Pacific Ocean. That’s about 20 percent of the world’s total ocean area.

Additional Resources

Media Contact

Leah Weiser

Officer, Communications