Four Pew Scholars Win Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers

Four Pew biomedical scholars are among this year's 102 recipients of the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, announced Dec. 23 by President Barack Obama. The award is considered the highest U.S. government honor bestowed on researchers in the beginning stages of their careers. The four Pew scholars chosen to receive the award are among twenty selected grantees of the National Institutes of Health.

The Pew scholars are:

Learn more about Thomas Fazzio
Thomas Fazzio (2011)
assistant professor,
University of Massachusetts Medical School

Learn more about Xue Han
Xue Han (2012)
assistant professor,
Boston University

Learn more about Andrew Goodman
Andrew Goodman (2013)
assistant professor,
Yale University School of Medicine

Learn more about Shingo Kajimura
Shingo Kajimura (2013)
assistant professor,
University of California, San Francisco

In a press release from the White House, President Obama lauded the work of the recipients as “promising indicators of even greater successes ahead” and acknowledged “their commitment to generating the scientific and technical advancements that will ensure America's global leadership for many years to come.”

Pew's biomedical scholars program provides funding to young investigators of outstanding promise in science relevant to the advancement of human health. For more information, visit