Australia Declares Major New Conservation Parks in Northern Australia

More than 1 million hectares (2.5 million acres) of protected area have been added to northern Australia.

Australia's Northern Territory state government has designated two major new conservation areas—Limmen National Park and Limmen Bight Marine Park. Located in northern Australia, approximately 500 miles (800 kilometers) southeast of Darwin, the two are the first major protected areas designated in the region in more than a decade and represent a significant step in protecting northern Australia's unique environment. With this announcement, more than 1 million hectares (2.5 million acres)—including beaches, forests, rock art, and outstanding geologic formations—are added to the region's conservation area. Limmen National Park becomes the second-largest national park under the state's management, and Limmen Bight Marine Park will significantly increase marine areas under protection.

The Pew Environment Group's Outback Australia program worked with conservation organizations and Traditional Owners in Australia to urge the government to protect these places.