Press Release

Statement on Administration Announcement of Forest Advisory Panel


Statement By Robert Vandermark, Director, Heritage Forests Campaign

Under the Administration's new rule governing roadless forests, today the USDA announced the names of the committee members in a late Friday press release. The committee will provide recommendations to the Secretary of Agriculture on the petitions to be submitted by governors for the treatment of these areas. The group is notable for its diverse makeup, including some environmental advocates. Ultimate authority rests with the Secretary of Agriculture under the new Bush rule, and his track record has strongly favored logging and mining over stewardship.

Heritage Forest Campaign reacted, saying: "This committee's membership is a prescription for getting conflicting advice that in the end will leave the decisions with an administration that does not want to protect roadless forests," according to Robert Vandermark, director of HFC. See the advisory panel charter here.


State Elected Official Representative
   - Darin Bird, Assistant director of the Utah Department of Natural Resources

Local Elected Official Representative
   - Robert Cope, Lemhi County Commissioner Idaho

Developed Recreation Representatives
   - Adena Cook, Public Lands Director for the BlueRibbon Coalition
   - Geraldine Link, Director of Public Policy for the National Ski Area Association

Commercial Interest Representatives
   - Jeff Eisenberg, Director of Federal Lands, National Cattlemen Beef Association
   - James Riley, President of the Intermountain Forestry Association
Organized Labor Representative
   - Denny Scott, United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners, Dir of Research

Conservation Organization Representatives
   - Chris Wood, VP Government Affairs for Trout Unlimited
   - Todd Schulke, Center for Biological Diversity
   - Paul Hansen, President Izaak Walton League
   - Howard (Ray) Vaughn, Executive Director of Wild Law
   - Dale Harris, Great Burn Study Group